Growing like weeds

These days, everything in the Conger household is growing. In case you hadn’t heard, our family is growing by two come spring. With a June 1 due date, the twins will probably be here around May 1 if they’re patient.

I’m growing (no really, the belly gets bigger overnight); the girls are growing (they’re carrot-sized this week!); and soon, our home will be growing!

We’re moving in a few weeks into a two-bedroom apartment to make room for our growing family. I’m so excited to actually have a nursery and start planning for the arrival of our little girls. I’m daydreaming in grey and yellow, cheery and calming. Now to practice self-control while browsing Pottery Barn Kids.

Nursery daydreaming also brings me to more practical planning. With two on the way, I could easily let myself think we need two of everything, but with a little research I’m learning that’s not necessary.

I’d love some input from been there, done that moms– especially those with small spaces or multiple children. We won’t have a lot of storage space, and I don’t want half our things sitting unused once we discover Baby Girl A only wants to be in the bouncer and Baby Girl B only sits in the swing. So, before we register and start filling our nursery, what do we need to know?

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Growing like weeds

  1. Mary Beth says:

    First of all, I love that you are wearing that shirt as a maternity shirt. Second, I think that it is hard to know what you need until you know what your kids like (helpful, right?). I’d register for the big stuff, and then save the receipts. Maybe you’ll find you only need one swing, or bouncer, but then your friends and family get the joy of helping you out, and you can always return it for a helpful sum to spend on even more diapers, or swaddlers, or whatever you do need more of. Twins are a big job! But you’re amazing, and I’m going to come out and help for a week whenever you are ready for me :-).

    • That’s sort of what I’m hearing, that the girls will each like some things and not others, based on their personalities. And, I’m always ready for you to come spend a week, haha. But I can’t wait to have you come and meet the girls!

  2. Rebekah says:

    You look gorgeous!

    If you can, borrow things before you buy them (and perhaps ask for gift cards, so that you can purchase items that you actually want after the girls arrive). That way you can test out that swing or bouncer for free, and see if your girls really like it.

    Shelves + baskets make excellent storage, I think, and let you get use out of walls without taking up storage space. Baskets under the crib/s as well. If you have a closet in their room, make full use of any shelves in there– even put in another one if you can! You don’t need a lot of space below the hanger bar because baby clothes are so tiny. More room for shelves. Ellie has one shelf above the hanger bar, and one below, so that ends up giving us four levels for storage if you include the clothes on hangers.

    I like putting things behind doors or in baskets because you don’t see the stuff, even if it’s just piled in there.

    I think that a lot of baby items are available in versions with a smaller footprint. For example, you can get a giant (albeit super cool) swing like this: http://tinyurl.com/pdmotut, or you can get a smaller one like this: http://tinyurl.com/prn63xo. :)

    • Thank you, Rebekah! There are a lot of moms at church with babies turning 2 and 3 this spring; maybe I can take some of their baby things for a test drive. That could be really helpful. So are the storage tips– we do have a closet in their room, but I think we’ll need to make even more space.

What do you think?

