My week, in list form

It’s been a busy week work-wise (yes, I realize I’m writing this and it’s still Wednesday morning) but I want to give a glimpse into my thoughts on the week. I was inspired by another blog to do a little list of things, just snippets of my days. So here it is…. not even in chronological order. 

* I do love a day when I am productive before lunch. Sometimes I feel like I never make a call before lunch. I think it’s just because I usually don’t get calls back. Today I will have spoken to three important people by noon. (Important to me– I’m not calling up celebs or anything. :))

*Speaking of lunch, I love intern lunch. All six of us have been eating together and today Katie brought cake. Carleton, our intern contact/editor, gives us funny looks and says whenever interns gather he suspects them of plotting TWT’s overthrow. I ask him if we’d be good interns if we weren’t. 

* I miss the mountains already. I never realized until I spent four and a half years living in flat places that Washington is really mountainous even in the foothills. I love it. The slate blue, the evergreens, the hills, the winding roads, the weather-beaten barns on sloping green, green pastures … maybe I should be a mountain girl forever. 

* I also miss the river. That and the rain make Washington so lush and green. And besides, the Columbia is just so huge. It defines the whole area; it’s like the soul of Vancouver and Portland. Can you tell I haven’t gotten over being home for a few days? 

* Favorite comment on my brother’s wedding so far: a picture caption on facebook of he and his girl walking down the aisle after being pronounced man and wife: SEE HOW HAPPY HE IS! Yes. Yes, he is. 

*My editor is an awesome editor. He took a story I pitched, let me work on it all summer, and then let me be part of the editing process. Looking over his shoulder while he edits my work has definitely been one of the most valuable parts of this internship. I feel like between that and realizing that news writing is allowed to have style has made the summer more productive than I could have imagined. 

*God’s mercies are new every morning, and so is the joy of His salvation. So many mornings I wake up faintly grumpy and, unused to workdays and waiting for an editor’s assignment and then being frantically busy, am reluctant to commit myself to “do hard things.” But the Lord reminds me in His gentle way that this is something I love, somewhere He has put me, and all good things require hard work. 

*I love my work. More than that, I love my God. Treasure the gospel today. Cherish it. Nothing could be richer for the one who rests on our Holy, Living Savior Jesus’ blood and righteousness.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

