Peace

 

 

This weekend was so refreshing. I think the last time a weekend felt like such a glorious rest was the first weekend in D.C.; weekends at home are more like a continuation of good weeks, but something about starting a new job again just wore me out. I always forget the physical toll a mental and emotional stressor can have, and moving and starting a new job are two big ones.

It was a good week, but I was so thankful to sleep past 6, make pumpkin pancakes, get through Mumford & Sons’ whole album, and explore downtown without a one-hour time constraint. I explored the harbor, too, which is gorgeous. I even watched two movies on Friday night.

As I began the new week, I realized that I wasn’t eagerly anticipating work like anyone offered a good, fun internship should be. I also wasn’t very full of the Word, or of joy, or the passion that motivates me to find good stories. I knew this wasn’t the way the week should begin and was at a loss to know why I felt like work seemed like work.

I realized that one big problem is that I’ve been starting my days in a hurry, haphazard, and relying on time in the Word and in prayer in the evenings to fuel my days. I know that works for some people, but it really doesn’t for me. I am not mindful of “things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God,” but of “earthly things,” as Paul says. And on evenings when I just want to veg, I almost resent the extra effort it takes to think as I study the Word.

So, as painful as it sounded to my sleep-loving self, I decided to begin getting up at 5:30 instead of 6 a.m. and have some time in the Word over breakfast and coffee before I leave. That is the discipline of my time and sleep that I need to offer myself wholly to God and align my heart with His before I go off into the world.

And let me tell you, one day into this daring new plan (and I cheated and got up at 5:45 this morning), I can honestly tell the difference it makes in my heart. God so blessed that time, not with a sort of spiritual high, but with an abiding peace that lifted any burden of work or anything off my shoulders. The Word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword. Feel free to keep me accountable as I worship my Savior in this small way. I thank Him for His faithfulness to me in it.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

