Pumpkin feast

Today I woke up with an incurable pumpkin craving. Lauren and I already had a pumpkin pancake lunch date set, but my housemate told me to check out foodgawker.com, and when I typed in “pumpkin”… glorious recipes came up. Pumpkin soup, pumpkin pasta sauce, pumpkin ravioli, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin granola, even pumpkin chili… I just had to choose one!

Lauren and I had our delicious pancakes first, made with TJ’s pumpkin pancake mix, and I used pumpkin for the butter and added vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. They were so, so good. Actually, that wasn’t my first pumpkin of the day– I made a pumpkin spice cafe au lait and it tasted like Peets’ pumpkin spice lattes. Mmhmm.  Then I had to postpone further pumpkin cooking until I returned from the SB courthouse clock tower, where I talked to the architect, muralist, and clock master of a new clock gallery being made in an old clock tower.

When I got back, I pulled out my pumpkin and got busy. I made pumpkin pasta sauce, which I ate over whole wheat penne. It was delicious- creamy and slightly spicy. To tell the truth, though, I really missed the taste of gorgonzola or goat cheese in it, so I tried something else with a little of the leftovers.  I stirred my pumpkin base into vegetable broth, just enough to make it a creamy soup consistency, and sure enough it was perfect that way. Tomorrow I’m going to try a whole bowl of it, with a dash of curry. I think it will be wonderful. How happy, to have one recipe that becomes two!

Here is the pasta recipe, courtesy of Circle B Kitchen:

1 pound campanelle or penne pasta
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
3 shallots, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, grated
1 1/2 cups vegetable broth (or chicken broth)
One 15-ounce can pure pumpkin puree
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 to 3 oz goat cheese
1 tsp salt
½ tsp fresh cracked pepper (or 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper)
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
¼ teaspoon nutmeg
1 ½ tablespoon of chopped fresh sage
Grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and add 2 to 3 tablespoons of salt.  Add the pasta and cook until al dente. Drain.

Meanwhile, in a medium skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the shallots, crushed red pepper (if using), and garlic and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Stir in the  broth, pumpkin, salt, pepper and cream. Add the cinnamon and nutmeg and whisk in the goat cheese and 1 tablespoon of the fresh sage.  Lower the heat and simmer until thickened, about 5 minutes.  Taste for seasoning and adjust if necessary.  Can add a little of the Parmesan cheese here if you like.

Toss the pasta with the sauce, cover and let sit off the heat for 5 minutes or so.  Place in a serving bowl and top with the remaining fresh sage and a good dusting of the Parmesan cheese.  Serve with additional Parmesan cheese at the table.

And here is the pumpkin spice latte recipe- try it next time you’re dying to go to Starbucks or Peet’s. It’s perfect breakfast coffee.

1-1 1/2 cups [soy] milk

2 shots espresso, or 1/2 cup strong brewed coffee

1 Tbs. pumpkin puree

sugar to taste

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. each cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger, or 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Heat up the milk, and whisk in the other ingredients. Drink in fall in a cup.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin feast

  1. Kristina says:

    YUMMY! I want a latte, some pasta, some curry, some pancakes, some pumpkin oatmeal…. 😀

  2. Yummy indeed!
    Michal, I think you are pro at turning one recipe into two! 😉

What do you think?

