I finally got almost finished decorating my room on Sunday. I’ve had two Anthropologie catalogs and a few other pictures left to put up, so Sunday afternoon I turned on Matt Chandler’s sermons on Colossians and decorated while I listened. I think he made it through chapter 1, verse 10. I can’t wait for the other three chapters!

I love the pictures too– the top is what’s above my desk; the cut-out says “off she goes.” The bottom is what’s above my bed– “My voyage home.” I love that they’re both so appropriate to me now: moving away, but bringing home with me.

It’s hard to set up a new home, no matter how long it’s for. I’ve learned that the home I grew up in is so different from other places. In my family, home is a place of peace, comfort, and beauty. It’s special. How do you bring a sense of family with you when you move? I try to bring the beauty and the peace. The comfort comes with morning cups of coffee, Saturday pancakes, phone calls home… and quiet time alone in the Word.

Speaking of which, my commitment to get up earlier and spend time in the Word and in prayer is halfway there. I’ve been getting up between 5:30-5:45, and a few mornings I’ve really been able to sit with my coffee and oatmeal and Bible and just read for 20 straight minutes. Sounds like a short time, but when you leave at 7a.m., it feels like a luxury.

Other mornings have not been quite so successful. Often I take the extra time to get ready because I have it, or put off things like packing my lunch the night before, thinking they won’t take much time. But they take just enough time to give me maybe just 5 or 10 minutes to read, not enough to really get into it.

So I continue to try. I do listen to worship music on the bus a lot. I leave when it’s still getting light, so it’s the perfect thing to do. Listen, and watch the sun rise over the palm trees I know line the beach. But  I hope to get better; something about the Word is like food, real substance, and I need that in the morning or I am only half-filled all day.

Sunday with Matt Chandler was a wonderful encouragement, by the way. I had decided to read through Colossians every day last week, beginning last Sunday, and I think I made it at least most of the way through 5 times. Then, as I was searching Matt Chandler’s sermons, I remembered that he did a series on Colossians. I was so excited… I love to read and meditate on something, and then hear someone wiser and more knowledgable than I am teach on it. I can’t wait to keep listening this upcoming weekend.

And yes. That’s what I’ll do for Halloween, my least favorite holiday. Listen to Matt Chandler, while I drink french pressed coffee and eat pumpkin pancakes.

 

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Kristina says:

    Delightful and full of the beauty that is you – inside and out. xo

What do you think?

