Farmer’s Market, SB Style

I was greeted this evening as I walked out of work by lines of display tables and swarms of volunteers on State Street. Christian Slater was there doing something, which I’ll have to read the News-Press tomorrow to figure out… I didn’t pay attention.

Better than Christian Slater were the tables and tents just a little down the road. The Santa Barbara Farmer’s Market happens right down the street from the News-Press every Tuesday night! This week I’d forgotten it was market day, and because I filled my cart with produce at Trader Joe’s this weekend, I almost didn’t go. But it’s not in my nature to pass up a farmer’s market.

I can’t help loving them. They remind me of the country life, open fields, the smell of dirt and horses and saddle leather, and fresh cut hay. Of home, and Saturday mornings at the Vancouver Farmer’s Market. Of an earthiness foreign to South Coast California cool-ness.

Today I had two market triumphs: pumpkin seeds for roasting, and the cutest winter butternut squash I’ve ever seen. It was $.75, weighing in at less than a pound and small enough to stash in my purse as I perused the Banana Republic sale racks a few minutes later in search of another skirt for work. Banana has the best sales.

I did find my skirt, too. So many bargains today! It’s a summer-weight, above-the-knee length, coffee with cream colored skirt with a wide, pleated waist. It’s just right for work, because the mornings are cool, but the afternoons are still warm. The office here is casual. Everything here is casual, which gave me culture shock after coming from D.C., where a pencil skirt and button-down are on the barely acceptable side of dressed up depending on where you are.

I wore a pencil skirt my first day here, and that was the last time I wore it. I end up wearing jeans almost every day, and I’ve gotten tired of it– I might break out the pencil skirt again soon, but I’m so happy to have a not-dressy, not-black skirt to wear in this casual South Coast city.

I roasted my pumpkin seeds tonight with cinnamon, ginger, a light dusting of sugar… and a touch of cayenne. It sounds odd, I know, but try it! They’re delicious, and they’ll make such a good work-day snack.

This weekend is the West Coast Leadership Conference at YAF, which I get to cover. I do love being an NJC intern. 🙂 If I get to go to the Reagan Ranch, I will certainly share about it!

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farmer’s Market, SB Style

  1. appletw says:

    Delicious! You MUST blog about every day; I LOVE it!! 😀

What do you think?

