Keep On Pushing


I noticed this my first day of work at the News-Press. The building behind the sign is the News-Press, and I have to think the sign is intended to go with the building. I wonder which source who wouldn’t return phone calls before deadline prompted some poor reporter to commit this act of hilarious vandalism.

It’s also an encouragement, though. “Keep on pushing” is how I felt about work for much of this week, with a couple long nights and just, well, the ordinariness of life. Sometimes I just really crave the extraordinary. But it’s Friday now, and God’s mercies are new every morning, His joy  holy and pure and all-consuming yesterday, today and forever. Imagine someday when our joy is complete!

Until then we keep on pushing, walking in the Spirit and not on our own merit. How often do I have to be reminded of that? The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, and self control. The fruit of me trying on my own to make my conduct worthy of the gospel and still be joyful is… nothing worthy of the gospel. Certainly not holy, burning joy.

Praise be to God, who supplies our every need. I love Him. But not  nearly as much as He loves me.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keep On Pushing

  1. Julie says:

    LOVE the David Crowder Band song! 🙂

What do you think?

