An Unorthodox Christmas Song.

Does such a jam-session, gospel-bluesy song really have anything to do with Christmas or Advent?

Today it turned my heart there. This year it has been the things that don’t seem to have much of anything to do with Christmas that have made me remember what it means. Eager expectation, that advent spirit, only comes when I long for something I want because it is so good, because I realize my real need for it.

As I watched  Needtobreathe sing so joyfully, just rejoicing in our God who delights to take every burden every day, my heart also rejoiced. What a difference it makes to live with that happy knowledge– and how glorifying to our God, when we can declare back with certainty that He is capable of handling them all, so much more capable than we are.

The essence of Christmas is joy. Joy in our Savior, felt much more deeply because I realize my human frailty, my certain need of Him. Joy in the One who bears all my burdens, because while they feel heavy to me sometimes, He delights to have me lay them down at His feet. Joy in Him who came to seek and save the lost, because I was once lost and full of sin, and there are many, many more still in need of Him. Joy in His justice, because He does what is good and judges with righteousness, and joy in His mercy, or else his justice would be my end.

So when I think about advent, waiting for the celebration of when Jesus came to make known the mystery of the gospel, I think of all the joy that follows because He came. Through Him God made salvation a gift to all of us, extending His mercy to Jews and Gentiles alike. Through Him we are adopted and made righteous in His righteousness.

And some day, He is coming back. For that day most of all, we most eagerly wait.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Unorthodox Christmas Song.

  1. Kristina says:

    I continue to be blessed and amazed. Keep writing precious. xo

What do you think?

