The best. Hands down.

The best chocolate cookies.

I’ve been curious about the idea that the secret to the very best chocolate chip cookies is to refrigerate them for hours, even overnight, before baking them. I understand how that works with pizza crust, because the yeasty dough develops depth and body as it sits and rises slowly. But cookie dough has no yeast, so I really don’t know how that one works.

However, when someone claims their cookies have a richness of butterscotch complexity and a perfect balance of texture- chewy outside and soft inside- I have to try it. That, my friends, would be a perfect cookie.

So, on a fresh, bright California morning, I mixed up this recipe and left them to become amazing while I went to work. If I hadn’t been out of the house all day, I am pretty sure they wouldn’t have survived more than two hours. As it is, I put a sample batch in as soon as I got home, but I think that counts because if I’d waited overnight I would have gotten up early to test them out. I thought about them the whole time I was covering the Santa Barbara Democrats’ meeting.

Oh my goodness. Those were the only thoughts I was capable of when I took a hopeful bite of my test cookie. Just me, the cookie, and the chocolate chips, all three definitely melting.

They definitely live up to their reputation for rich flavor, although they have enough chocolate chips in them to make up for anything. Caramel-y, chocolatey, slightly chewy, almost melt-in-your mouth, they also live up to my texture standards. I don’t like my cookies soft all the way through, nor do I like them flat and crispy. I like them chewy around the edges and a just little softer inside, and not too crumbly. Just like these.

Go make them. Now.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The best. Hands down.

  1. Kristina says:

    I need the recipe – NOW! 😀

  2. Hayley says:

    I have never heard that!! I am definitely going to try refrigeration next time. 🙂 I’m pretty sure last time I made cc cookies I used margarine and they turned out like crap haha. It was a major fail.

  3. Hayley says:

    Question: Did you use bread flour or regular flour? I might just refrigerate my old recipe and see how that goes.

What do you think?

