One Thing Is Constant

“Our feelings come and go, but God’s love for us does not.” ~C.S. Lewis

This quote sums up quite well the experience of my September. The month began with a cross country drive that transplanted me and all my earthly possessions from Santa Barbara, my home of almost one year, to Alexandria, which was still deluged in weird weather at that point.
It has included settling in a new home with a new roommate, a job that feels entirely new, a new routine, new friends, new church, new habits and new roads to learn.
It has been full of job hunting and applying and interviewing and hoping.
All of that means a lot of different thoughts and feelings. Seven days alone in the car will bring up thoughts you don’t ordinarily have time or leisure for, and moving comes with a host of feelings, as  does settling into a new home.
Job hunting is something else altogether; it can only be described as an exercise in trust and endurance. I hope I appreciate how God has answered prayer once He does provide me with a full-time job. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been told I was “a very strong candidate, but we hired someone with more ___ experience.” You name it, I apparently need it. That has tested my perseverance despite my certainty that moving here was the best choice.
But in the midst of all those things, God’s love has not changed, nor will it ever change. The constancy of that love and everything it brings has made beautiful days sweeter and doubting days brighter. It is a constant fountain of joy in every circumstance.
It reminds me of all the times I’ve asked before, “How long, Oh Lord? Will you forget me forever?” Only to see him provide beyond what I could have asked. He is faithful, and will always remain so.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Thing Is Constant

  1. Heidi says:

    I understand your thoughts…and empathize. 🙂 We should catch up soon. I’m praying for you!

  2. Rachel Duke says:

    I’ve so loved catching up with your website!!! I love and praise the Lord for your heart and how the HS uses you to inspire and instill a deeper love and appreciation for and remind me of His awesome faithfulness. Love you, girl!

  3. Maggen says:

    Just wanted to say Hi.

What do you think?

