Everything is lawful, but not everything is helpful

In daily practice my faithfulness to a disciplined Bible reading habit has always varied, but since I was small my parents gently impressed on me that God’s Word is a necessary part of every day. As I have been more or less consistent, I’ve seen that proven absolutely true. The Holy Spirit is always at work in believers, but there is a certain readiness of mind and heart I find I lack when I’m not immersed in the Bible.

I think it’s that way for every believer, but especially so for me since one of the primary ways God speaks to me is through His word. I find that so lovely; He created me a words person and because he knows us each individually, he speaks to us in the ways that we understand best.

Even after eight months of working a split shift I’ve had difficulty finding the best time to read my Bible on this schedule. So lately I really like YouVersion, which makes the ESV Bible app on my iPhone but also has a wide variety of daily reading plans that you can get emailed to you.

I’m going through a reading plan right now called Soul Detox that I love. It comes into my inbox each morning and I can read it any time– often on a quick break at work, or later on my phone. Each day has a short introduction and a passage or two, and it’s quick to read but plenty to meditate on.

Today’s reading had this question: “What standards are you using to filter out cultural toxins in your life? How well do you think your standards match God’s?”

That question could be Sunday school-simple to answer, but it got me thinking.
I’ve made a list of areas I often see the world’s influence in my life, and I’m sharing them because I’d welcome both accountability and thoughts on your own list:

*My attitude toward money

*My motivation for exercising and making healthy food

*My motivation for interest in clothes, makeup and fashion
*”Adult” content in books, movies and tv shows– am I willing to skip an episode of 30 Rock, for instance, if the whole premise is based on something I don’t need to watch?
*Swearing in movies, shows and books– just because I don’t swear aloud doesn’t mean those words won’t pop into my head in traffic, and if it’s in my head, it may very well come out of my mouth.
*My attitude toward news, politics and current events
*Cynicism, whether toward politics and current events, or other people, or work
*Fear of man or making myself pleasing to others instead of presenting myself in holiness and trusting Christ for favor where I need it
*Undue emphasis on “me time,” or listening too much to the world’s reminder that I come first in my life
*Conversely, the inability to rest and be at peace instead of always striving to complete a check-list, even in my “rest”– I know my mind is rarely quiet when I sit down to read or pray. I think this largely comes from a desire to prove to “the inimitable collective them,” as Claire in Elizabethtown phrases it, that I can be successful and productive, counting productivity by the world’s standards and not God’s.
*My attitude toward work– do I see it as a drudgery or a vocation? Am I going through the motions or seeking to become better at it? Do I work in light of the gospel?

The reading for the day was 1Corinthians 6. I think I’ll print it out and put it up as a reminder, along with my list. I pray the Lord sharpens my sensitivity to cultural influence in these areas.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?