A Cooking Evening

So, it turned out to be a cooking day. It was kind of supposed to be a writing day; I interviewed an economist a few weeks ago and now that multiple freelancing deadlines have been met, I intended to write up a story about the interview this week.

But with no hard deadline, no immediate time element to the story and a little bit of freelancing ennui, I’ve become such a good procrastinator for the past few days! I have a more organized house and a long list of recipes to try from pinning like crazy to my food board on Pinterest. And I made a lot of roasted vegetables and creative salads for lunches. Oh, and I’ve seen too much 30 Rock, if that’s possible.

Today I actually think I’ll make a dent in the story, but first I escaped to the kitchen. Again. First it was chocolate pudding. The recipe was a slightly lightened-up version from a fitness website, but though I devoured a serving of it before it cooled down, it was too sweet. I almost think I could have cut the sugar in half. What saved it was the liberal amount of cocoa powder that made it very chocolatey.

The second experiment was just a simple cucumber-lemon water that I’ve been drinking all day. And that’s saying something, because I don’t drink much water. But I sliced up cucumber and squeezed in some lemon, and it’s kind of addicting.

But the last was the best. I had one sweet potato, and needed something to go with leftover salmon, so I made quinoa sweet potato cakes. I think they’ll be a weekly staple here!

They were so easy to make– no food processor needed, even. I just cooked the quinoa, microwaved the sweet potato till it was soft, and mixed them together with some spices, egg whites and a handful of bread crumbs. They hold together better than black bean burgers and they’re so flavorful. I think I ate four.

The real test is whether Bryant likes them, but he surprised me last week by taking seconds of basil quinoa, so this might be a very man-friendly side. Success!

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

