Election Eve

I can’t believe it’s election eve already. I can tell you I’ll probably be glued to polls, analysis and Twitter long into the night on Tuesday until the winner is called — and then my Twitter-watching will triple! And then comes the post-result spin. It’s going to be a heady week.

Too much social media can clutter up my mind with half-formed thoughts and cloud the way I look at things, though. For that reason, I deactivated my Facebook account for the week this morning, sensing that with the rapidly escalating emotions surrounding tomorrow’s election, two things would happen:

First, in the hour I’d been at work I’d already checked my Facebook news feed four or five times, looking to see what people are saying about the candidates and the election process. If that’s how often I checked it 48 hours before knowing results, I knew I’d practically be on a Facebook IV drip by Tuesday night.

Second — and this is the bigger reason I deactivated — I knew I’d let myself get too emotionally involved in what people posted. Because politics can get emotional when so much is on the line, I knew I’d be tempted to view my friends differently based on their political views. Yes, I hold my views firmly because I believe they’re based in eternal principles. But I didn’t want to give myself permission to start thinking of anyone voting for a different candidate as unintelligent, or as valuing liberty less than I do.

I definitely don’t think that’s necessary for everyone. Facebook is going to be a fun and crazy forum for watching the election unfold. But I want to emerge on Wednesday morning with a clear mind and a clear heart, and I think staying off Facebook will help me be more intentional about that. I’ll get all the news I need from work, and all the commentary I need from in-person conversations.

How do you plan to keep up with election results? Have you ever deactivated Facebook or gotten off of Twitter for a similar reason?

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Election Eve

  1. henatayeb says:

    Hope you were happy with the winner..
    While my facebook friends were not as active I did have a hard time with what people were saying on twitter.. but I don’t know any of them personally so I just considered them as crazy people, ranted about them to the husband and then forgot about them. After all my team did win!

What do you think?

