Last Days and First Days

I am currently sitting on the couch in a blazer, my nicest work shirt, curly hair… and sweatpants. I have pumpkin-tomato soup simmering on the stove and a glass of malbec in my hand. I guess that’s how you end your last day of work? It works for me!

Today was my last day at The Washington Times, which is bittersweet. My internship on the paper’s national desk a few years ago was my first real reporting experience and produced what is still one of my favorite stories, an expose on domestic minor sex trafficking in Portland.

My job as a digital editor was my first job at a national paper, and it was a pretty sweet gig. I can tell you all the headlines, and I actually learned a lot about politics and policy just by reading so much news and commentary. I learned how to advance news with a story and find what’s lacking in a bland one. I learned a lot about the web side of news production, too, which has proved itself more useful than I imagined.

But I’m eager for the first days coming up — first days of working downtown (everything is downtown compared to New York Avenue), first days taking the metro (daily date with G.K. Chesterton), and first days of a new job.

I’m most excited for the first days of spending evenings with Bryant. He’s been so patient with my schedule for the past year and a half; for most of that time, whenever he’s not working, I have been, even on weekends. It will feel like the height of luxury to be off work at the same time together every evening.

So while my sweatpants might be my concession to a long last day of work, the glass of wine is in celebration of first days coming up. Here’s to a new year of first days.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Last Days and First Days

  1. Rachel Duke says:

    Brilliant finish! You have such a flourish for writing. I’m so proud of you and praise the Lord for you, for being a part of that summer when you did your exposé on sex trafficking, and just seeing how the Lord has grown you and used you in my life and in others. What a journey! Excited about what lies ahead for you, and B! Yay for “normal” work hours 🙂

  2. Heidi says:

    Congratulations on another milestone…and yes, you will enjoy those evenings together SO much. 🙂

  3. E. Henry says:

    Sounds like you have more adventures waiting for you. What a lovely way to look at these changes in your life. 🙂

  4. So excited for you and Bryant to have evenings together, sister! I know what a blessing that will be for you both. 🙂

What do you think?

