What a difference the Word makes

It’s been quite a while since I’ve written. Not because I blog all day, but because I spend a considerable amount of time with my husband these days that I used to spend cleaning, cooking and blogging while he was at work.

That means I’ve found myself playing catch-up on housework as I figure out how to have dinner ready when we get home from work at the same time, and when to scrub the floor and wash the laundry and get the groceries. I really don’t mind, but I’m definitely not an expert yet.

The most important thing being put these days, though, has been my time with the Lord and in the Word. Many days if I do read my Bible it’s from my phone on the commute to work, which is sufficient for busy days but robs me of the quiet time I need to let the Word sink into my heart and mind. So I put it off, thinking I’ll pick up my Bible before I go to sleep.

This morning, though, I was reminded that the Word — even read on a small screen in the thick of Terrible Traffic Tuesday — is life-giving and sustaining.

My reading this morning was nothing I haven’t read before, but I was deeply impressed with how clearly each small passage displayed God’s forethought, care and “lovingkindess,” as Psalm 5 calls it.

I’m going through a one-year Bible plan that includes both Old and New Testament, and right now I’m still in the genealogy part of 1 Chronicles. Not thrilling reading. But it’s quite obvious as the author lays out where each tribe lived and the task each took on that God “casts our lots” according to how he has created us, with care for how we will best be fulfilled in our worship of Him.

“And these are they whom David set over the service of song in the house of the Lord, after that the ark had rest.

And they ministered before the dwelling place of the tabernacle of the congregation with singing, until Solomon had built the house of theLord in Jerusalem: and then they waited on their office according to their order.

And these are they that waited with their children… their brethren also the Levites were appointed unto all manner of service of the tabernacle of the house of God.

But Aaron and his sons offered upon the altar of the burnt offering, and on the altar of incense, and were appointed for all the work of the place most holy, and to make an atonement for Israel, according to all that Moses the servant of God had commanded.” (1 Chron. 6)

The idea that God is glorified by people who do nothing all day long but offer up the “service of song” put a song in my own heart. I came to work today lifted up by the thought that God knows His children and that He is fearfully awesome and worthy of having a whole tribe of people linger in his presence all day to offer songs and minister forgiveness to His people.

What a different thought than those I usually take in to work with me! Being prepared for the news can only carry me to the moment pressure sets in, but a joyful heart can sustain all manner of busy days.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a difference the Word makes

  1. Rebekah says:

    This was very good for me to read, Michal! It’s so true. Even a TINY bit of the Word is life-giving.

What do you think?

