Sunshine, the cure for everything.

It may be Spring, but the weather here certainly doesn’t seem to know it. Last time this year, it was already getting hot and sticky; this year the thermometer has broken 50 once since winter started. We’re even supposed to get a dusting of snow this weekend.

Lately the sun has been making a valiant effort, though. Occasionally I sneak downstairs to the Starbucks around the corner as an excuse to hear the birds and feel a hint of sunshine on my face.

As I neared the end of the workday this afternoon, I could barely keep my eyes open. And that was after a strong cup of black tea. I decided the answer was fresh air, and braced for the breezy cold that just won’t go away.

Imagine my happy surprise when I walked out into a vibrantly sunny spring afternoon. It was just warm enough that I could stroll for a few blocks and enjoy sun so bright I wished I had my sunglasses.

At Barcode, a crowd of off-duty K Street execs stood around the sidewalk tables at Barcode, the first time they’ve been open since I started working downtown two months ago.

I even opened my arms wide and closed my eyes in the middle of the sidewalk; I’m sure I looked a little like Maria in The Sound of Music singing her way to the Von Trapp home.

On my way inside, I took advantage of Starbucks’ hazelnut macchiato promotion and snapped a picture of the Washington Examiner sign from inside. I can’t wait until it feels as warm as it looks outside! I’m so ready for Spring.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunshine, the cure for everything.

  1. Heidi says:

    I hear you. I refused to wear tights the other day because it looked SO WARM…and wouldn’t you know it was FREEZING and I had to run errands during my breaks at school…grrr…

  2. Come here! It’s not so cold and all the cherry blossoms are blooming and we’re getting that weird NW early spring weather with sun, rain, and hail (sometimes snowfall), all unpredictably in one day. It’s pretty wonderful because sun is predominant. 🙂
    I love that you stood in the street like Maria 😀 I liked the hazelnut macchiato at Starbucks, but ever since I tried that one I’ve had inspiration to add hazelnut to my (decaf) mochas and I like that even better. Especially at this place by Ian’s work that serves Kona coffee. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Liebster Blog Nomination | Everything Relevant is on the Floor

What do you think?

