A pleasant surprise

LIEBSTER-BLOG-AWARDWhat a pleasant surprise last week to find E. Henry had nominated me for a Liebster blog award! The point of the award is simple: directing more readers to blogs with fewer than 200 followers. I answer some questions about myself, then nominate other blogs I think should have more readers.

Eleven Random Facts about Michal 

1. I’m a journalist, which is one of the best jobs I can think of.

2. I love vegetables. There’s a giant bag of kale in my fridge right now, along with turnips, parsnips, avocados, tomatoes, cabbage and carrots.

3. I own two horses, a warmblood and an Arabian, and love riding.

4. I trained a horse to carry a rider, and after 3 trial-and-error years she turned out fantastic.

5. I am training for a half marathon. This will be the fourth time I’ve trained, but only the first time I’ve run — I’m excited to actually finish the race!

6. I am a hippie when it comes to food. I love things natural and local. Like an episode of Portlandia.

7. I am the oldest of four and have three brothers.

8. I eat chocolate every day.

9. My favorite author is C.S. Lewis.

10. I am a country girl, but I love working in the city.

11. My name is actually a woman’s name. In Hebrew it’s the feminine version of Michael, and it was the most popular girls’ name in Israel when I was born.

Eleven Random Questions Given from Emily, via Iris

If there was one place in the world you would travel, where would it be? It depends on the day you ask, but today, Paris.

Have you yet mastered the art of parallel parking? Oh no. But I can teach you how to parallel park like a pro.

What is your favorite word? So much of a word’s beauty comes from its being perfect in context, but I love the hints of the eternal in the word delight

What is your favorite season of the year and why? Summer; I love the sunlight, heat, picnics, fresh berries, iced coffee and how long every day feels.

What are you looking forward to doing most this summer? Riding again, and hopefully going to a training show; running that half marathon; going to farmer’s markets.

What is your favorite quote or words of wisdom?  “As I close this chaotic volume I open again the strange small book from which all Christianity came; and I am again haunted by a kind of confirmation. The tremendous figure which fills the Gospels towers in this respect, as in every other, above all the thinkers who ever thought themselves tall. His pathos was natural, almost casual. The Stoics, ancient and modern, were proud of concealing their tears. He never concealed His tears; He showed them plainly on His open face at any daily sight, such as the far sight of His native city. Yet He concealed something. Solemn supermen and imperial diplomatists are proud of restraining their anger. He never restrained His anger. He flung furniture down the front steps of the Temple, and asked men how they expected to escape the damnation of Hell. Yet He restrained something. I say it with reverence; there was in that shattering personality a thread that must be called shyness. There was something that He hid from all men when He went up a mountain to pray. There was something that He covered constantly by abrupt silence or impetuous isolation. There was some one thing that was too great for God to show us when He walked upon our earth; and I have sometimes fancied that it was His mirth.”
― G.K. Chesterton, Orthodoxy

Coffee or tea? Coffee in the morning, and tea for the rest of the day.

What is the last movie you watched? It’s been a long time; I don’t remember! I watch Dr. Who, 30 Rock and White Collar, though.

If there is one person in the world (living) whom you aspire to be like, who would it be?  Impossible to choose just one, but none are famous to any but their family and friends.

What/who/where is your inspiration for writing? The idea that reality is so much greater, wilder and more gloriously beautiful than it usually appears here on earth.

What is your favorite thing to do with your family? Read and play games.

Here are a few blogs I think deserve many more readers. (I’ve erred on the side of caution to not pick blogs that are primarily for personal updates.)

Sweet Tooth Mama is baking a cake a week this year, and I can’t wait to visit in June to hold the sweet-tooth baby while she bakes me a cake!

At Run the Earth and Watch the Sky, some poetry that will ignite your deepest longings.

Heidi has some delightful advice on cooking, homemaking and other fun projects.

Rachel B. Duke shares some lovely words of wisdom.

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A pleasant surprise

  1. Olivia says:

    Thank you ever so much, my friend and cousin! That is just what I would wish for my poetry, and indeed the poetry stems from the same longings… I love hearing your random facts and your answers (we have a lot of similarities 😉

  2. Heidi says:

    Thanks for the shout out Michal! And congratulations…so cool to be nominated for a blog award! 🙂

  3. E. Henry says:

    This was GREAT! LOVED your answers. And I totally forgot to add my own questions for you… haha.

What do you think?

