April is the best month

I can hardly believe it, but last weekend was our first anniversary already. We spent a beautiful, leisurely weekend in Williamsburg, with perfect weather and no agenda except to see whatever we felt like seeing and eat at a tavern.

20130414_125519

The colonial town had a special that turned our day passes into passes good through the end of the year, so we took our time and didn’t feel any pressure to see everything. We did tour the governor’s palace, the capitol building and the armory. We also ate at Chowning’s Tavern, and were serenaded by a guitar player while we ate.

20130414_125452

The governor’s palace has an amazing English garden. I wish I had a picture, but I didn’t have my phone with me, and was too preoccupied with the abundance of tulips to borrow Bryant’s phone. But you understand when you see these, don’t you?

palacegarden

We ended the weekend with a long lunch on the patio of a cheese shop just outside the colonial town, with a cheese plate and some Virginia wine. It was perfect. You can picture us sitting out in the sunshine here.

cheese-shop-williamsburg-virginia

It was a wonderful way to celebrate one year of marriage to the kindest, funniest and most charming of husbands. It’s hard to believe it was a whole year ago we were making silly faces in the Puerto Rican jungle to celebrate a few days of marriage. Well, he makes the faces and I laugh at them.

20120419_162658

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Things, Wedding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April is the best month

  1. Rachel Duke says:

    Awwwwww….you two!! I’m so glad you took a few pics of you two…and B’s faces always crack me up. So happy you had such a relaxing and beautiful weekend! You both are so good for each other, and I praise the Lord for how I’ve seen Him at work in you both throughout the history of your relationship and marriage.

  2. Heidi says:

    Yay for Virginia anniversaries! 🙂

What do you think?

