Sometimes in the city

Sometimes on spring days in the city, when the sun comes out for just a day, the patio tables at every cafe within walking distance fill up and people buy Starbucks coffee not because they want it, but so they can claim a chair in the glow.

Friday was one of those days, and everyone else seemed to share my sneaky idea of taking a late lunch break and snagging a table as lunchers headed back to the office.

I finally spotted a newly-vacated table and sprinted across the street to take it. The only problem was, I didn’t have anything from the cafe. If I left the table, it would get taken.
If I left my book to claim the table, someone might just take that!

I scribbled a note on a blank envelope and went inside to get an iced tea.

When I came out, there was a red-headed, well-dressed young man lounging in the chair across from me. He smiled and said casually, “I thought we could share.”

I found it amusing and since tables were scarce, I shrugged and let him stay. I read my book and he ate his sandwich, and we parted without even knowing each other’s names.

Sometimes in the city, you work a short walk from Living Social’s headquarters, and you get to meet friends at their five-story, exposed-brick hipster building for a tea tasting.

Tea tasting? I’d never heard of such a thing, but it was wonderful. We learned more about tea than I thought there was to know.

We sampled Genmaicha green tea (my new favorite — did you know toasted rice used to bulk up tea leaves to make tea cheaper?), oolong, earl gray, ceylon and camomile. They even taught us how to pair food with tea: savory with green tea, sweet with black.

And as we left, they loaded us up with samples. Needless to say, I’ve been drinking tea nonstop ever since.

Sometimes in that same city, on your way back from tea tasting, you walk by the White House. And even though you’ve lived in the city for almost two years, you still have to stop and admire the park grounds and the romantic architecture, and marvel again that you live in the nation’s capital.

Please excuse the lack of pictures — I had some technical difficulties uploading them this morning, but I’ll fix it after work! 

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sometimes in the city

  1. Heidi says:

    Such a fun post. I’m hoping to find more things like that to do when the school year ends. I know they exist here…I just haven’t found them!

  2. Olivia says:

    I was just scrolling and reading, and this post made me very happy indeed. Just wanted you to know I loved it. Love you cousin.

What do you think?

