Rachel Goble: Saving children from a life of slavery

I‘m delighted to share a story I wrote for Verily Magazine about Rachel Goble, president of The SOLD Project, which rescues children from a life of slavery by focusing on prevention.

Rachel spoke with me over Skype from Thailand to talk about how she went from being ignorant of human trafficking to doing something to stop it.

27 million: That’s how man slaves are trapped in injustice today. Many of us, when we hear about human trafficking, are overwhelmed, torn between the desire to help and feeling unable to make any lasting impact. I know that’s where I was for a long time.

I love Rachel’s story because it’s an answer to the persistent question of what in the world one person can do. You go. You serve where you are, walking boldly through open doors, with the gifts God gives.

You can read Rachel’s story here. And if you’ve never read Verily, stick around and read some of their other wonderful articles. They’ve got everything from relationship advice to cultural commentary to fitness, and it’s all good! Verily is a refreshing countercultural read that has what most women’s magazines are missing, and I love it.

p.s. If you’re getting this in your inbox, please excuse the formatting snafus. WordPress’s email-to-post function seems to have a few html bugs that I haven’t quite figured out how to prevent. 

About Michal Conger

I’m a reporter and digital editor, a cooking and whole foods fanatic, a runner, a music lover, an Anthropologie devotee. I'm an avid reader of G.K. Chesterton, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and anti-modernist novels. Lately you’ll find me freelancing about education policy and local economic issues to support my horseback riding habit. I am married to my best friend. And above all, I am committed to bearing the testimony of the Lord Jesus, giving an answer for the hope that is in me.
This entry was posted in Human Trafficking, Journalism, Slavery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

